The Nobel Prize in Physics 2012









This year’s Nobel Prize in physics was awarded jointly to Serge Haroche from France and David J. Wineland from USA “for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems”.

They will share the prize for their work on quantum optics — the precise control of photons.

“The Nobel laureates have opened the door to a new era of experimentation with quantum physics by demonstrating the direct observation of individual quantum particles without destroying them,” the Academy said in a statement.

“Perhaps the quantum computer will change our everyday lives in this century in the same radical way as the classical computer did in the last century.”

The Nobel prize in physics was announced Tuesday at the Royal Swedish Academy of Science in Stockholm. The two winners will share a prize of $1.2 million.




About ~ wolfrayetstar

Science enthusiast and visual artist - hobbyist. Begginer in astrophotography and huge fan of nerdy jokes.
This entry was posted in Discoveries, Researches and Studies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Nobel Prize in Physics 2012

  1. Pingback: The Nobel Prize in Physics 2012 « cseindiaportal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s